Sayyid Dynasty and  Lodi Dynasty – Medieval India Part 6

Sayyid Dynasty (1414–1451)

  • Timur appointed Khizr Khan as his deputy to oversee Timurid interests in the Punjab marches.
  • Khizr Khan (1414- 21) went on to seize Delhi and establish the Sayyid dynasty (1414–51).
  • The Sayyid dynasty established by Khizr Khan had four sultans ruling up to 1451.
  • The early Sayyid Sultans ruled paying tribute to Timur’s son.
  • Their rule is marked for the composing of Tarikh-i- Mubarak Shahi by Yahiya bin Ahmad Sirhindi. By the end of their rule the empire was largely confined to the city of Delhi.
  • In the entire history of the Delhi Sultanate there was only one Sultan who voluntarily abdicated his throne and moved to a small town away from Delhi, where he lived for three full decades in contentment and peace. He was Alam Shah of the Sayyid dynasty. – Abraham Eraly, The Age of Wrath.

  Lodi Dynasty (1451–1526 )

  • The Lodi Dynasty was established by Bahlol Lodi (1451–1489) whose reign witnessed the conquest of Sharqi Kingdom (Bengal).
  • It was his son Sikander Lodi (1489–1517) who shifted the capital from Delhi to Agra in 1504.
  • The last Lodi ruler Ibrahim Lodi was defeated by Babur in the First Battle of Panipat, which resulted in the establishment of Mughal

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *