National Disaster Response Force (NDRF)- All About NDRF- Explained:

Introduction :

#When your state receive any natural disaster like flood,earthquake etc,you can see a force of number of soldiers try to rescue the victims from that location.That force is National Disaster Response Force.

National Disaster Response Force (NDRF) works under the Ministry Of Home Affairs.

About NDRF :

#Several natural calamities like Orissa cyclone in 1999,Gujarath earth quake in 2001 ,Indian Ocean cyclone etc brought into a need of comprehensive disaster management plan .Thus Disaster Management Act was enacted in 2005.

Disaster Management Act  has statutory provisions for the constitution of NDRF for the purpose of specialized response force to natural and man made disaster.

#NDRF was constituted in 2006 ,Initially with 8 battalions.

# Now NDRF has 12 battalions with each battalion consists of 1149 personnel.

# Because of the importance of NDRF ,NDRF rules was made in 2008 which envisage NDRF as a dedicated force for disaster response related duties under the unified command of DG.

#After its inception,NDRF worked immensely from its first work of Kasi flood in 2008.

# NDRF won millions of hearts by its extraordinary services especially during Jammu and Kashmir flood,cyclone Hud Hud etc.

NDRF Composition:

#NDRF has 12 battalions 3 each from BSF and CRPF, 2 each from CISF,ITBP and SSB

BSF -Border Security Force

CRPF -Central Reserve Police Force

CISF-Central Industrial Security Force

ITBP-Indo-Tibetian Border Police

SSB-Sashastra Seema Bal

# Each battalion have 18 self contained specialized search and rescue team of 45 personnel including Engineers,Technicians ,Electricians etc.

# Battalions also trained and equipped for response during chemical ,biological ,radio logical and nuclear weapons.

Locations Of NDRF Battalions :

12 NDRF battalions are located at different locations based on the vulnerability profile of the country and to cut down the response time for their deployment at disaster site.

Their Locations are as follows

1.Guwahati-For Assam ,Meghalaya,Mizoram and Tripura

2.Haringhata For WestBengal State

3.Mundali For Chattissgarh state

4.Arakkonam  For Andaman and Nicobar,Lakshadweep,Kerala,Puducherry and Tamilnadu

5.Vadodara  For Gujarath ,Rajasthan,Daman and Diu and Dadar and Nagar Haveli

6.Bhatinda For Chandigarh,Himachal Pradesh,Punjab and Jammu and Kashmir

7.Ghaziabad For Delhi,Haryana,Uttarakhand and Uttar Pradesh

8.Patna For Bihar and Jharkhand

9.Vijayawada For Andra pradesh,Telengana and Karnataka

10.Varanasi For Madhya Pradesh and Uttar Pradesh

11.Doimukh For Assam ,Arunachal Pradesh ,Manipur and Nagaland

12.Pune For Maharashtra


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *